So, it is Saturday again. What to write about? Hmm... I am sitting here listening to my kitten sucking his paw. It is really cute. He is lying in a box next to my computer chair. Whenever he wants to fall asleep he sucks on his paw very much the same way a child sucks on their thumb. When I fall asleep at night and he is next to me I hear him sucking away. It is so cute. Baby is always next to me. Always. I love his presence.
So, what is new? Not much. Chelsea had the flu for a couple of days. She had a 101 degree fever. I haven't gotten it so far and am hoping this flu was included in the flu shot as I received one. We will see! I just hate getting the flu on top of fibromyalgia. I am hurting a lot today, too, because we are due a snowstorm sometime tomorrow and I can always feel a storm a day or two, and sometimes three, before it comes. I am very, very tired of being achey every day.
I think I watch too much TV. It keeps my mind occupied when I think too much. An idle mind for me can be too dangerous - especially with my OCD (obsessive-compulsive disorder). So, I like to keep my mind occupied. I watch all kinds of stuff on TV - I watch the Game Show Network, news, silly sitcoms, stupid reality shows, old re-runs of shows, Christian television, and I even watch QVC and HSN, although I never buy anything. Now mind you, I am housebound most of the time and alone a lot and the TV is used as noise, too. I am not always engrossed in what I am watching. I can be on the telephone, making dinner, talking to my daughter, doing a project, cleaning, whatever... What do you guys watch on TV, and is it for noise or do you really watch it?
I was watching 20/20 last night and found it very, very interesting. I learned a few things. I usually don't learn ANYTHING on TV except from the news. So, here are a few things you might find interesting:
* It doesn't matter how late you eat at night. You won't gain weight as long as your caloric intake during the day is not larger than what you burn. It seems like we are gaining weight because people actually choose the wrong foods like comfort foods and foods they feel are rewards such as pizza and ice cream, so eat at night if you want to, just eat the right things!!
* If you want to lose weight make sure you get enough sleep! The less sleep you get the harder it is to lose weight. When you are deprived of sleep your body doesn't have as much of the hormone leptin (I believe that is how it is spelled) that gives you the full-tummy feeling. Interesting. So you become hungry. The busier we Americans have become, and the less sleep we have gotten (90 minutes less in the last few decades) the larger we have gotten!
* Aloe, natural ingredients, fruit extracts, etc. don't do a darn thing to clean your hair or make it healthier in shampoo! So, don't buy into it! Interesting.
* Reading in a low light will not harm your eyes. As a matter of fact, either will reading in a moving car, according to my opthalmologist. I had a fight with my Dad over this once. He would not let me read on a trip to Baltimore because he said it would ruin my eyes. So we talked to my doc. He said it wouldn't hurt. Then I wiggled my eyeballs (a cool trick I can do, yes, wiggle my eyeballs! Can anyone else do this?). My Dad and Mom always told me to stop doing this and said it could hurt them. My opthalmologist said it couldn't and in fact asked me to do it again and said, "Coool!" So, it is hard to hurt your eyes!
*Moisturizers do nothing, nada, zilch to prevent wrinkles. There is no cream that can prevent wrinkles. So if you are buying a cream or moisturizer that says it prevents wrinkles they are lying to you!
*Finally, and this is my favorite, chocolate is good for your heart. Yep! It has flavanoids. It depends on how you eat it, though. It is best in its purest form. If you buy it as dark as you can get it and in a cocoa form then you are in good shape. We ruin it by adding fat and sugar to it. One ounce is really, really good for you!! So eat your chocolate, but be smart about it! Cool!
I have been pretty upset about the current administration trying to ruin Social Security. I found an excellent post about it here. Thanks to Ramblin' Man, Rich!! Please go and read it! It leads you to a petition you can sign.
I am off to go take a nap. My body is very tired. Have a happy weekend, all!!